WARNING: Emails appear to be from Network Solutions
December 15, 2008 – 1:32 amPhishing is a type of deception on the internet designed to steal your valuable personal data, such as credit card numbers, passwords, and account data.
Phishing as a type of online scam has been around for a few years. Unfortunately, the scammers have continued to get more sophisticated, making it tougher to determine when an email is real and when it is a phishing attempt.
Several clients have received email messages with subjects like “Please, renew your domain” and “Inaccurate whois information” or even the urgent sounding “Your domains will be deleted soon” that appear to be from Network Solutions or some other well known domain registrar. The From Address looks valid, the email appears to have a legitimate request, and the link in it appears to go directly to www.networksolutions.com.
Don’t be fooled!
In a phishing email, the scammer can easily use HTML to make a link appear to be valid when the link actually goes somewhere different. In most recent cases, the scammer simply adds “www.networksolutions.com” as a subdomain for their own domain so that “www.networksolutions.com.scammer123.com” shows *their* phishing page. On that page they make it look like you are logging into your Network Solutions account when they are actually capturing your account information so that they can use it against you.
One way to detect these phishing emails and their bogus links is to hover your mouse over the link before clicking.
The best way to avoid these phishing attempts is to not click on the links – type in the URL into your browser yourself. You can also forward a suspicous email about your domain to support @decatech.com and we’d be happy to help you diagnose the request.
DecaTech Solutions – Helping you Stay Safe Online
One Response to “WARNING: Emails appear to be from Network Solutions”
Hi ,
Thanks for your post. Network Solutions takes phishing scams extremely seriously and takes all possible actions to minimize the threat to its users. Here is a link to an advisory posted on our blog inc ase it is useful http://blog.networksolutions.com/2008/phishing-alert-please-watch-for-this-email/
Thanks,
Shashi Bellamkonda
http://blog.networksolutions.com
By Shashi bellamkonda at Network Solutions on Dec 15, 2008